Made In The U.S.A.

How difficult is this gonna be?

In Stuff on January 14, 2009 at 10:17 am

12.31.08

Just out of curiosity I’ve been ramping up my awareness for the new year. Today in the shower I was pleasantly surprised to see that the Tilex spray I use daily to keep the shower clean is proud to be made in the USA. I vaguely recall seeing “Made in Missouri” banners on household cleaning supply displays at Schnucks (the grocery store where I make most of my edible purchases), so maybe with that stuff it’ll be easier than expected.

But in terms of food: am I screwed? I was spooning peanut butter into Hazel and Myra’s Kongs this morning (Kongs are semi-indestructible chew toys for dogs; I wonder where they are made?) and I decided to check the back of the Schnucks brand peanut butter for evidence. While it did warn me in big bold letters that the contents contain, horror of horrors, PEANUTS… It did not mention remotely where they’re from, or even where the PB was made, or even packaged. I have no idea what to think, except to assume that peanut butter can’t come from that far away, can it?

###

Leave a Reply

