Made In The U.S.A.

Fast Food and Beer

In Edibles on January 17, 2009 at 12:19 am

I bought food and drink like crazy today. Breakfast at Hardee’s, where I was doing a charity shoot (and apparently I was on the noon news on channel 4 hob-nobbing with a TV weather guy and the St. Louis County Executive) which was actually donated by the company. Then lunch at Dickey’s, where I had barbecue and iced tea (unsweet, of course). Dinner was drive-thru (on the way to a trivia night event, which we won partly because I knew that the answer to the universe was 42) and I can say unequivocally that the Burger King parking lot smells flame grilled and I like that. Bought some beers at the event, too, which were Anheuser Busch-Inbev products, presumably locally brewed by the world’s biggest brewer. (Is that still considered buying local?) I feel like I technically succeeded in buying American, but the megacorporations tied up in everything I ate and drank today makes me feel a little sick to my stomach. That, or the fast food and beer is backing up on me.

###

Leave a Reply

