Made In The U.S.A.

A Kona Crack wakeup call

In Adventures on January 20, 2009 at 3:34 pm

1.5.09: What a Monday.

Yet again, I expected to report that I bought nothing aside from lunch (a Hardee’s low-carb burger that, checking online beforehand, I learned was 100% Angus Beef and therefore, presumably, MITUSA—even though I’ve no intention of ensuring every restaurant meal I ingest is of American products all the way through, I am at least remaining aware out of curiosity) but in fact I stopped at Schnucks so Shelley could pick up a few items for work. I had an eventful few grocery store minutes.

First, in another coffeegate salvo, I scoped out the coffee aisle in search of appropriate beans. I found plenty of locally roasted coffees—Kaldi’s, Ronnoco and presumably a few others. I didn’t look closely for local roasts. I was searching for Kona. But I didn’t see any. There was a Kona blend and it was $12 a pound. I’m used to paying $8 for my Starbucks.

It struck me there in the aisle that the Columbian coffee was probably grown closer to my home than Kona would be. Does that make it okay, just for purely environmental reasons? More research will definitely be necessary. I didn’t buy any coffee.

Next I hit the snack aisle for some jerky. I know, it’s jerky. But I’m doing the low-carb thing, remember? The Jack Links didn’t specifically say MITUSA, but it didn’t show another country of origin and it did include some prose in the form of a message from the president of the company stating how it was a family owned, Wisconsin-based company for generations now. I took that for a tacit endorsement of MITUSA status.

I’d better learn the rules on what markings or no markings mean. It might be helpful as a frame of reference.

Lastly, it occurred to me that my front porch light had gone out the other day. All three bulbs, or at least the last functioning one, went out simultaneously. I had one bulb, but the other two were still dead. That’s when I started pondering the probability of light bulbs being MITUSA. I didn’t have much hope, which was worrisome because I needed candelabra bulbs, which are presumably rarer than regular old light bulbs (which I’ve come to learn have what is called an Edison base). If the single brand of candelabra bulbs the store carried were not MITUSA I was bound to be driving around town in search of them. See how it’s already saving me time, money and helping the environment to buy American? Maybe not.

Well, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the first bulbs I found, Sylvania Double-Life candelabras, were proudly Made In The USA. Bullet dodged!

###

Leave a Reply

