Made In The U.S.A.

Am I Un-American?

In Uncategorized on January 21, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Okay, fine. I’m un-American. I don’t mean to be. I’m certainly not advocating buying American because I want other peoples/countries/races to fail. I’ve just been taught for years that buying American creates American jobs and that’s good for Americans and since I’m a good American that’s good for me. Is that no longer true? Was it ever? Did I totally miss the boat here?

Look, I’m not advocating buying inferior products at inflated prices. Heck, I bought my last car not because it was made in Korea, but since no other manufacturer touched the warranty or the price. I used the free market and I felt fine about it. Even proud. May the best man win. To the victor go the spoils. Etcetera.

Still, though. Isn’t there some truth to the idea that buying local (i.e. American-made) goods is good for the locality? It creates jobs, fosters innovation, helps keep wages up, minimizes economic impact and other good for America things, right? If Americans bought American cars over the last decade would we now be pondering, or doing, a bigass bailout? Apparently I’m gonna buy American cars with my tax dollars anyway; I might as well have gotten a car out of the deal.

###

Leave a Reply

