Made In The U.S.A.

Brie and Avocados

In Adventures on January 26, 2009 at 8:30 pm

1.11.09: I went to the grocery store today. Not some fancy Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods. Just the plain old local chain. I spent $108 on about $90 worth of food, but I can’t complain too much. In all, it was an enlightening and relatively effortless experience. It did seem to take a little longer than usual, though. Here’s what I learned:

Most of the produce I buy is MITUSA. Celery stamped “Product of USA.” Red Onions with stickers from Idaho and Colorado. Tomatoes and salad lettuce, both domestic. The only casualty? Avocados. The two available options were imported from Mexico. I may have to look to the fancy suppliers for California or Floriada guacs. (My mom tells the story of a waitress once talking up an appetizer: “It’s made from fresh guacamoles!”)

I did have frozen shrimp in my cart, and “ten for $10” salmon fillets too. Then it occurred to me: I forgot to check them! Sure enough the shrimp was from Thailand. The discount fish? China.

I found the American-made fillets. Wild Alaskan Salmon, actually. Several options were available. All were about $4 each. Ouch. I still got a couple of them.

The biggest heartbreaker? Aside from the avocados, it would have to be the cheese. I’m a sucker for good cheese: brie, Gouda, Roquefort, et al. Especially aged Gouda, which goes directly from tasty on the tongue to nourishing for the soul. It is, of course, made in Holland. Ugh.

There were a few items of unverifiable origin that I’ll have to research. Peanut butter (several brands checked, none indicated an origin), whipped cream (ditto), Jell-O (it didn’t say), fresh mozzerella (ditto) and Emerald nuts (ditto). Let’s see…

Emerald Nuts? Can’t figure it out, even at Amazon. (They really should list origins.)
Jell-O? Dover, Delaware!
Mozzerella Fresca? MITUSA! (I can’t figure out exactly where, but it’s won awards for “American Made” cheese.)
Cabot Whipped Cream? It’s a Vermont collective of dairy farmers and it even has the state in its logo. It sure appears to be MITUSA, but I haven’t seen those magic words yet.
Peanut Butter? The two major players, Jif and Peter Pan, are made in KY and GA. I assume the store brand I get is made indirectly by them or someone else nearby.

If only I could find some brie and avocados…

###

Leave a Reply

