Made In The U.S.A.

I only buy music from Kentucky and North Carolina.

In Adventures on January 29, 2009 at 9:26 am

1.13.09: Bought some iTunes today. Technically the money changed hands way back pre-Christmas, because I received a gift card from Shelley’s sister. Last week I bought a record via iTunes (the Avett Brothers, banjo punk from North Carolina—and insanely great) and it didn’t occur to me that it counts as consumption. I did the same thing today, with an EP from My Morning Jacket (live at The Palms; it’s self indulgent and you can probably skip it. Sorry “greatest rock band in America today.”). That’s when it occurred to me that I’m buying and consuming all the time. Even when I’m just downloading digital files from the largest music retailer in the world and not transacting any physical stuff.

I guess if you’re buying files from iTunes they’d have to be considered Made In The USA. But since really, you’re not buying files but music, where’s the music made? (If I was physically buying a CD, I think I’d have to defer to the locale in which the disk was pressed.) I can’t check the liner notes to see the studios in which they were recorded since I’m just buying files. In fact, I’m not buying anything; I’m licensing music. Like renting, sort of.

Maybe it should be where the band was made. For the Avett Brothers and My Morning Jacket, it’s North Carolina and Kentucky, respectively. You don’t get any more American than North Carolina and Kentucky in my book.

###

Leave a Reply

