Made In The U.S.A.

The Goodwill

In Adventures on February 5, 2009 at 6:03 pm

I dropped by Goodwill today at lunch to donate some picture frames and a tape deck from work. I decided to pop inside and check out the music selection.

Earlier today, I’d finished setting up the new old stereo system in the studio at work. An ancient tuner and cassette deck, coupled with the Technics turntable I rescued from the dumpster and got working with a $7 rubber belt (last year) from the Interwebs where I searched “Technics turntable belts” and had it in hand in mere days. My bumpin system in the studio now plays cassettes and vinyl records and FM radio–and I did all three today.

Sure enough, Goodwill (or “The Goodwill”, as the lady who greeted everyone with a smile said when folks walked through the door) had a great music selection. I passed over lots of good records just to be thrifty. I ended up spending $13.52. Here’s what I got:

Four CDs: Eliot Smith’s “From a Basement on a Hill”; R.E.M.’s “Automatic for the People”; John Mayer’s “Room for Squares”; and an as-it-turns-out empty CD case for John Cougar Mellencamp’s “Scarecrow.” All in all, a nice CD haul–even with the empty JCM box.

Two Cassettes: Beck’s “Loser” single and Bon Jovi’s “Slippery When Wet.”

Seven Vinyl Records: Eurythmics, Grateful Dead, Joan Jett, John Denver, Janet Jackson (Miss Jackson, if you’re nasty), Olivia Newton John and Wang Chung.

And best of all, I don’t feel guilty about buying junk. I rescued junk from the dustbin of history. And now I can listen to Grandma’s Feather Bed on vinyl while I work.

###

Leave a Reply

