Made In The U.S.A.

Thank you, and here’s my address.

In Adventures on February 24, 2009 at 6:20 am

I heard a new Dave Sinclair ad on the radio today. He’s the “South County Ford Dealer” who for the last year or so has started broadcasting commercials stressing the importance of buying American-made cars. He generally supports the American worker because, as he points out, he can’t sell cars to people who don’t have jobs. Good point, Dave.

Some of his ads have a tendency to sound jingoistic, but I’ve got to hand it to the guy: any time a car dealer is on TV saying, even if you don’t buy a car from me at least make it an American car, that’s admirable. He’s taken a stand–clearly a stand that benefits himself–and he’s standing by it. And putting his money where his mouth is.

He’s essentially making a point, though, that’s no more selfish than my point: I don’t want to live in a country that’s going off the rails via financial meltdown. It’s not good for the country, and it’s not good for me. So let’s try to prevent that from happening. One way to prevent his personal crisis is to buy a car from him. A second alternative is to buy from any American carmaker–like Chrysler, for example, who assembles vehicles in South County. Those South County Chrysler makers who have jobs then have money. And they can buy cars. In South County. From South County dealers. (Sure, it’s probably Chryslers, but the point remains: what’s good for the buyer is good for the seller. And sometimes, like now, the reverse is also true. Dave knows this.)

More power to you, Dave. I hope you sell lots of cars. Thanks for putting a positive message into the world. I call it positive because, if nothing else, maybe people will listen to your words and at least think about the origins of their cars. And shirts. And shoes. And stuff.

###

  1. Your solution is to buy a used or certified pre-owned car from a local domestic dealer who sells used cars. Let someone else take the depreciation hit, and you can still get a desirable foreign make without the “I didn’t buy American” guilt of buying the same foreign car new. Here’s an article from Edmunds.com that talks about your blog subject, in case you haven’t already seen it: http://www.edmunds.com/advice/buying/articles/119995/article.html

    If/when the domestic manufacturers make a reliable, affordable car that suits my needs and that I enjoy driving as much as the “foreign” brands, I’ll buy American.

    Great blog, Bill!

    • Hey, thanks! That is a great article that gets exactly to my point. And the idea of buying a “vintage” anything goes a long way toward making it American, regardless of where it began its life. I’ll have to make a blog post calling attention to that great link; thanks for sending it!

  2. […] the south county Ford dealer, St. Louis icon and “buy American” advocate about whom I’ve written in the past, twice actually, passed away in September. I learned about it belatedly, when I heard a commercial […]

Leave a Reply

