Made In The U.S.A.

Coffee drama. Yet again.

In Adventures on February 26, 2009 at 12:19 am

This week’s addition to the coffeegate conundrum comes by way of a local coffee roaster. I bought a pound of Kaldi’s Certified Organic Fair Trade French Roast ground coffee. I did this because:

a) It’s locally roasted, i.e. “made”, in St. Louis

b) It’s certified organic, and fair trade, and that seems to be the most responsible way to buy coffee.

c) Kaldi’s is supposed to be really good. We’ll see.

I haven’t cracked it open yet, but I did read the side. Along with a story about an Ethiopian goat herder named Kaldi who first discovered that coffee beans gave his herd energy, the bag told me other interesting tidbits such as:

1) Don’t store your coffee in the fridge. After the bag’s been opened, coffee can and will absorb the smells and flavors of other foods. Ugh.

2) Turn on the cold water and let it run for a moment before filling the reservoir on your coffee maker. Impurities and whatnot.

3) Don’t overboil your water. Let it just boil, then cool for a moment before steeping. (Or, use a fancy drip or percolator coffeemaker that does all that for you.)

4) Don’t freeze your coffee. It can damage the beans. Or something.

So I took my coffee out of the fridge.

But I still don’t know if I’ve found the ideal coffee solution. Maybe I have; I like that it’s local and responsible. Seems like an admirable combination.

###

Leave a Reply

