Made In The U.S.A.

Built Mexico Tough

In Adventures on March 2, 2009 at 12:08 am

As usual, I’d be nowhere without Dan and Crystal. Dan just sent me an email about new hybrid car options–namely, the 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid. Here’s the note: 

I saw a brief article on Yahoo yesterday talking about the new Ford Fusion hybrid. Apparently they were giving it real high marks… comparable and better than the Prius in some categories.  And you can get a $3,400 tax credit for buying the car (the tax incentive for the Prius was gone a long time ago due to a 60,000 vehicle limit).

Great news, surely. Still a problem, though. Dan’s email was called “American Cars.” A well-intentioned title, absolutely. And one that the folks at Ford are happy to capitalize on. The problem is, the Ford Fusion Hybrid is made in Mexico.

They’re gonna stop sending me informative links if I keep raining on the parade like that. I do the same thing by checking Snopes every time someone sends me a “too good to be true” email forward. (The ones that are too good to be true, are.)

Still, I suppose I’d rather buy a Mexican-made Ford than a Chinese-made Toyota. That’s closer to home, right? “Buy Local” is all relative…

###

Leave a Reply

