Made In The U.S.A.

Is a Bee Farm more like a Flea Circus or an Ant Colony?

In Adventures on March 17, 2009 at 12:37 am

I’m writing this between preparing a snack and eating that snack. The snack is honey on bread. I don’t really have a name for it, but if I did it would probably be something like “honey bread.”

At Schnucks last week I picked up a block of fresh, in-the-comb honey from the Gibbons Bee Farm in Ballwin, MO. That’s pretty local; maybe 15 miles away? I’m pretty impressed that the regular supermarket has any local products.

I’ve never had honey from the comb before. It is a wonderfully textural experience. I bought it, but wasn’t sure what to do with it. So I sliced a piece off as if it were a giant pat of butter; even the cutting of the honey was satisfying. I put the slice of honey on the bread. Then I ate the bread.

Then I giggled, which I do sometimes with new food triumphs.

Makes me think about the first caveman who cracked open a bee hive. Probably accidentally got some on his hand and accidentally tasted it. Then he looked at his cave-partner with wide-eyed awe and they dug in and gorged on the stuff, not even caring about the constant bee stings and sheer terror of the experience.

That’s what I wanna do.

The only weird part is that when you’re done, you realize that you have little bits of wax stuck to your teeth. It’s not really a problem, as it’s as completely flavorless. I don’t know if the comb honey actually tastes any better, but it sure seems like it might.

Okay, I can’t take it any longer. I’m gonna eat now.

I seriously just got honey on my laptop. It’s sticky.

###

Leave a Reply

