Made In The U.S.A.

Worst Company In America

In Resources on March 23, 2009 at 12:36 am

If you, like me, assume that the bigger a company is the more likely it is to harm or kill you for a profit, then you should read The Consumerist. The Consumerist is where regular people like you and me rise up and revolt against the corporations who have our worst interests at heart.

How does this tie in to buying American? Because buying American is buying with some sort of conscience. The Consumerist stands in for a corporate conscience, since most corporations are seriously conscientiously deficient.

Right now you can go to The Consumerist with nominations for its annual “Worst Company In America” poll. Last year’s final four pitted Diebold, Wal Mart, Countrywide and Comcast against each other. Countrywide emerged “victorious.”

I will always vote for Bank of America as the evilest empire (they once charged me $4 for an “in branch statement fee” when I went into a branch to protest a duplicate fee on my account and they printed out a statement while I was there) but I’m starting to consider AT&T as a worthy contender just based on the quantity of U-verse junk mail they send to my home. AT&T even once sent a salesman disguised as an installer to my house. He made it all the way into my foyer in the course of his “free line upgrade” that required my signature so that he could “still get me the same price.” Whoa whoa whoa. That’s shady, AT&T. Shady.

###

Leave a Reply

