Made In The U.S.A.

Lens Cappery

In Adventures on April 12, 2009 at 12:46 am

I need a body cap for my Canon camera. A body cap, for those who don’t know, is like a lens cap for the camera body when the lens isn’t on it.

Normally a person in need of a body cap would go to a camera store and say “I need a body cap for my camera.” They would then be handed a body cap in exchange for $10 or so (which is an outrage for a little blob of plastic) and everybody would go about their merry way.

Except that if you look inside a body cap it will undoubtedly say something like “Made in China” or “Made in Japan” or “Made in Taiwan.”

There are lots of aftermarket makers of lens- and body caps, but they don’t seem to come from ‘Merica neither.

So the next best thing, in my humble opinion, is to find a used one.

I searched eBay for “Canon Body Cap” and found 218 results. I eliminated the new ones by adding “-new” to the search terms, and that cut the field in half. Many of the candidates were still in fact new, however, so I decided to 86 the “-new” and add the word “used” to the search. Eureka!

Out of the few dozen candidates, a handful were in fact what I wanted–used body caps that had originally come with a camera purchase and had now been separated for god knows what reasons from their cameras. Kinda like the reason why I need a body cap in the first place.

So I bought one. $5.95 will deliver to my door via USPS a used OEM (original equipment manufacturer, if I’m not mistaken–which means it’s actually a Canon lens cap rather than an aftermarket compatible version) Canon EOS body cap.

Whether or not this action will singlehandedly turn around the U.S. economic crisis remains to be seen.

###

    1. Man! I have at least three extra body caps floating around one of my camera bags. Do you need any Cokin filters?

    Leave a Reply

