Made In The U.S.A.

Issue No. 1545

In Adventures on April 15, 2009 at 12:15 am

Re. the post “If you buy CFL light bulbs you might be a bad person” and reader Ryan’s thoughtful comment pointing me to the “Lights of America” web site:

Uh oh.

I present to you this email exchange:

To: Lights Of America Customer Service
Hi. I’ve heard that your CFL bulbs are made in the USA. Is that correct? Please provide me with details… Thanks much. Bill.

To: ‘Bill’
Re: Issue No. 1545
Dear ‘Bill’,
Thank you for contacting us on ‘4/13/2009 7:53:50 AM’, with reference to compact fluorescent light bulbs. The answer to your question is Sorry but our CFL bulbs are make in china
If we may be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact us!

I sure will!

I replied with sincere thanks, and then mentioned that their site claims, “We are proud to be the only ‘US Made’ Twister style compact fluorescent lamp in the United States.”

We’ll see what happens. My money’s on… nuthin.

The moral? If your gut tells you that something isn’t really MITUSA, no matter how many stars and stripes are in a company’s logo, it probably isn’t. 

###

  1. […] I messed up. Lights of America does not make their Lights in America. Thanks Bill, This has taught me to do more research… I must have read something wrong somewhere. Lights […]

  2. Thanks Bill. That makes me cranky. I’ve updated my post and sent a simple request to them.

  3. Red, white and blue washing. For shame.

  4. No, for profit.

Leave a Reply

