Made In The U.S.A.

Combos and Corn Nuts and Candy, Oh My.

In Adventures on April 17, 2009 at 12:12 am

Last weekend I went fishing. 

I stocked up at the gas station before I left town. Lots of bad munchies for the drive to Jacksonville. Combos and Corn Nuts and candy and a banana.

Then I drove.

Then it hit me: Combos and Corn Nuts and candy are great. Obviously. But the banana… the banana is pure imported South American evil.

I have failed. 

Every time I go to the grocery store it seems I pick up a bunch of bananas and get them into my cart before remembering that every Chiquita I’ve ever interrogated has come from Ecuador. So I put  them back. But this time, in the warm glow of the Mobil station, the banana just seemed like the lone healthy option in my junk food bender. It didn’t even occur to me that it’s from far, far away.

So forgive me, all. I did not intend to break my vow. And rest assured that I did not enjoy the banana. Even though I really, really did.

###

Leave a Reply

