Made In The U.S.A.

I had to buy Chinese brads.

In Adventures on May 5, 2009 at 12:13 am

I needed brads to hold together three-hole-punched paper scripts. 99 pages each. (For the story about how Kinkos… er, Fedex Office, screwed up the order and printed seven sets of 99-page documents backwards, from 99 down to 1, email me. It got the project started on the wrong foot. Things went downhill from there.)

They did punch the holes in the scripts, though, so that was good. And the holes were even on the left! Thank heaven for tiny miracles.

But they didn’t sell brads to hold them together. Great.

So I hit the Walgreens down the block because it was close and on my way. They didn’t have anything that would work, though they do have an office aisle.

So I made a special trip to Office Max. I hate office supply stores. I’m not sure why. I just do.

Anyway, they had one box of brads. Gold colored. Made in China. Even the alternatives, the similar products that would accomplish the same sort of thing only not as well, were also Made in China. I had no choice. I needed them. I’d visited three stores. This was the only option. So I bought them, and felt bad about it. (I should point out that had it been only my project that I was working on, I may have half-assed some alternative. But it wasn’t just my thing, so I did what a normal person would do and bought the crappy Chinese-made product.)

The best part about the Chinese-made brads? They’re smaller than the standard hole punch hole size. Or maybe they’re not smaller, but they’re exactly the same size. Meaning they don’t do their basic brad job of holding together pieces of paper.

So it was a rousing success all around.

###

Leave a Reply

