Made In The U.S.A.

Lawn Mowers

In Adventures on May 14, 2009 at 12:13 am

As I was mowing the lawn tonight I looked down and noticed that my Craftsman lawnmower was Made In The USA. Neat.

I bought it used last year, so I wasn’t particularly concerned at the time, although I was happy to buy a perfectly functional beater mower to cut my postage-stamp sized lawn.

Anyway, it got me thinking about lawn mowers. I wonder what’s MITUSA in mowers?

Turns out, lots.

According to U.S. Stuff, “All Snapper products are designed and produced in McDonough, Georgia.”

The same site sites Yard Machines as offering many MITUSA products via factories in Ohio, Tennessee, Mississippi and Kentucky. The Yard Machines parent company, MTD, also makes Cub Cadet, Yard-Man and White Outdoor brands. Presumably some of them are MITUSA too.

Craftsman, of course, makes at least some MITUSA mowers.

According to the Toro web site, the company has manufacturing facilities all over the country. And some in Mexico. And some in other parts of the world. Presumably at least some Toro (and Lawn Boy, owned by the same company) branded mowers are MITUSA.

This just occurred to me: Lawn Boy is a brand of lawn mower. Yard-Man is a competing brand. Coincidence? I think not.

If you would like to purchase and test a lawn mower on my yard, feel free. Any time. Maybe this weekend, for starters.

###

Leave a Reply

