Made In The U.S.A.

Growing green. And then eating it.

In Adventures on May 22, 2009 at 12:32 am

I bought pretty plants last weekend and potted them. Coleus, impatiens and a trailing vine I can’t think of the name of. They’re in the pots on the front porch, so if you stop by they will hopefully still be alive and blooming. I noticed that they were grown at two nurseries–one in Colorado and one in Michigan. I figured it would be hard to buy imported plants. Isn’t that the sort of thing they confiscate at the border?

I also purchased a tomato plant that is now living in the far corner of the back yard. My nod to growing my own. A “big beef” hybrid, as I recall. Indeterminate, which means it can theoretically grow and grow and grow. The plant is definitely MITUSA. Unfortunately, the biodegradeable peat pot it came in was imported from Canada. Dammit! I figure I’ll make up for it a bit when I’m eating my own homegrown tomaters.

Speaking of tomatoes, here’s my favorite summer tomato dish: caprese salad. You should try it. A lot.

Slice tomatoes (I actually like to use little grape tomatoes, Santa Sweets, and just lop them in half)
Slice/cube/chunk fresh mozzarella cheese (you can get the pearlini kind in little balls, or just slice up the big kind)
Drizzle with olive oil
Sprinkle with salt and pepper (good salt and good pepper make it even better)
Sprinkle with basil (fresh chopped is good, but you need more than if you use the dried stuff)
Mix it all up and let it sit at room temperature for a half-hour or more. The room temperature actually improves the flavor. Or so I heard once and now believe wholeheartedly.
If you’d like to fancy it up a touch, create a bed of sliced avocados and spread the salad on top.
Eat. Enjoy. No thanks necessary.

Do try to use MITUSA tomatoes and cheese if you would, please.

###

Leave a Reply

