Made In The U.S.A.

New Meaning

In Adventures on June 2, 2009 at 12:03 am

When I started this blog and tried to think of a catchy name for it, I was thinking puns. That’s pretty obvious given that I landed on “Bye, American” as a title for a site about buying American.

The intention at the beginning was that the “Bye, American” title represented saying goodbye to American manufacturing, and saying goodbye to the ability for consumers in the United States to purchase products that are Made In America, and ultimately saying goodbye to the good old American way of life that our parents and grandparents knew for most of the 20th century.

Mostly, though, I liked the pun.

Today it occurred to me that there’s a new meaning to the phrase “Bye, American.” It’s one that seems even more appropriate and, in fact, welcome.

I’ve said goodbye to my quintessentially “American” buying habits. I’ve said goodbye to shelling out cash on a whim for things I want but don’t need and will likely throw away in a week. I’ve said goodbye to buying without questioning. I’ve said goodbye to being an unwitting cog in this cycle of consumption. I’ve said goodbye to many of the things that make being an American consumer so distasteful.

I may still be a lazy, gluttonous slob, and all sorts of “American” in all sorts of ways, but at least I’ve got this going for me.

So that’s nice.

###

Leave a Reply

