Made In The U.S.A.

Make

In Adventures on June 9, 2009 at 12:23 am

There is a magazine, and a web site, and a whole lifestyle called “Make.”

Guess what it’s about.

Make is about “technology on your time.” That’s what the magazine says. I would have said it’s about making stuff. DIY-culture and such. Wikipedia says it’s, “an American quarterly magazine published by O’Reilly Media which focuses on do it yourself (DIY) projects involving computers, electronics, robotics, metalworking, woodworking and other disciplines. The magazine is marketed to people who enjoy “making” things and features complex projects which can often be completed with cheap materials, including household items.”

“Making” things? I wonder if that’s different than just making things.

I’m not sure that the robotics/computer angle is particularly relevant to my own personal interests. I mean, I like the Discovery channel and all, but I don’t know that I want to make robots.

BUT…

I do want to make other stuff. After all, if the theory of ‘the closer to home something comes from the better it is’ holds any water, originating from within your home is the ideal. Grow your own food. Sew your own clothes. Make your own stuff. I get it.

A quick glance around the web site shows how to make various chairs from various discarded items (an old set of crutches, FedEx boxes, a 50-gallon drum, etc) and at least two options for housing speakers in dolls. I’m sure further investigation is bound to reveal many “oh cool!” moments. I think I’ll seek out the printed version at the newsstand. This seems like the ideal place for a little gate-keeping. I’m a bit overwhelmed by the many projects on the site.

I am also struck by the feeling that the 11-year-old me would have adored the projects on this site. And I think we could all use a little more 11-year-old-ness. Seriously. Wonder and experimentation and whatnot. That’s good stuff.

Whether I build one, none or a hundred things from Make, I like the idea. Think outside the box. Remember a time when we could fend for ourselves a bit. Do something. Make something.

###

  1. They have a sister ‘zine called ‘Craft’ http://www.craftzine.com/.

    My favorite is http://www.instructables.com/ Not related other than in spirit.

    • Now THAT is my kind of magazine. I can wrap my head around the things being built in there.

Leave a Reply

