Made In The U.S.A.

Tickets Please

In Adventures on June 23, 2009 at 12:53 am

Tickets arrived in the mail today for the September show at Scottrade. Kings of Leon.

Aside from the offensive fees (Two $43.50 face value tickets should cost $87, right? Mine totaled $116.45 after nonsense fees from Ticketmaster.) the thing I realized when I looked at the tickets was just how many shows I’ve been going to this year. I wonder how much of it has to do with the fact that I can afford these tickets because I’m not spending my money on all the other junk I used to spend money on?

Kings of Leon, Def Leppard & Poison & Cheap Trick, Fleetwood Mac, Flight of the Conchords, Dane Cook, Ray Lamontagne, G Love, and probably more that I’m not thinking of. Whether you approve of the choices or not (they don’t sound particularly hip, but I had fun at all of ’em) the point is it’s a lot of tickets.

It’s like a million dollars in fees.

I couldn’t afford Ticketmaster tickets if I wasn’t saving money somewhere. Good thing I don’t have a car payment. Good thing I don’t buy clothes or electronics. Good thing I have a job.

This started as a positive post. Now I’m just mad at Ticketmaster.

Maybe next year I’ll dedicate my life to figuring out ways to avoid ticket fees from rip-off artists.

###

  1. Dane Cook? Oh, Bill . . .

  2. It was Shelley’s idea!
    See, Shelley! I told you we’d be the laughing stock of our friends and colleagues!
    He was kinda funny, though. And the spectacle was kinda neat. And you have NO idea how good the people watching was…

Leave a Reply

