Made In The U.S.A.

Ads Are Everywhere

In Adventures on June 25, 2009 at 12:20 am

I’m not sure this is directly related to my buying American adventure, but it’s at least tangentially so.

I’ve been noticing advertisements in places I’ve never noticed them before. Strange places.

The Hertz ad in the seatpocket of the airplane seat.

The Audi ad slipped into the envelope of my W hotel room keycard.

The Late Show ad that was triggered by my walking toward the flat-screen TV suspended from Atlanta’s Lenox Mall ceiling.

I wonder how much of it has to do with advertisers getting more creative these days, or desperate agencies giving away odd placements to clients who are pinching every penny. Whatever it is, it’s a weird trend that will probably only get weirder.

I’m still not buying, though.

###

Leave a Reply

