Made In The U.S.A.

I got new gutters.

In Adventures on July 2, 2009 at 12:13 am

What an exciting blog title. Yippee. You got new gutters. I’m so glad I’m reading this.

But wait, there’s drama!

Not really. Here’s the deal: I hired a guy to come give me an estimate for repairing and/or covering my old gutters. He gave me a good price on replacing the old gutters with new seamless aluminum covered gutters. So I did it.

Then it hit me: where are my gutters made?

Well, here’s the thing. They’re made on site. Seamless aluminum gutters, as I understand it, are extruded on-site. So technically, no matter where the bauxite that went into the aluminum was mined (likely Australia or Suriname or Brazil or Jamaica or somewhere else exotic and not ‘Merican), the gutters I bought were made locally.

Okay, I know that’s a stretch. But I needed gutters. And I didn’t really buy a product; I hired a guy to repair my house. Part of that necessitated his buying of materials to fix my house. I can’t control what materials he picks, now can I?

Still. There’s that twinge of un-American-ness. I hate that twinge.

###

Leave a Reply

