Made In The U.S.A.

My dogs ate my dryer vent.

In Adventures on July 19, 2009 at 12:23 am

Long story short, the whole expandable aluminum thingamajig that gets the hot dryer air out into the hot summer air was disintegrated into a spiral of disjointed puppy angst. So I had to buy a new one.

I walked in to the Depot (it’s the closest, and that’s got its appeal) bent on buying whatever they gave me. After all, you can’t dry without this vent. (Did I mention I had a load of towels in the washer?) Turns out that the single option in the appliance department was in fact stamped Made In The USA.

On the way out, I noticed a handful of other options in a different aisle, and I didn’t bother to check their origins. But it did make me think that maybe just settling for whatever was presented–like in this case, if the appliance department’s offering was Made In China–really isn’t a tolerable policy.

It wouldn’t have required much work to walk 50 feet to a different aisle to see what other options I had. And if I’d found one that met my local needs, I’d have been that much more of an empowered consumer.

Instead, I’m just lucky that the first one I found was MITUSA.

This is sort of a philosophical conundrum, no? What’s better: trying to buy MITUSA but failing, or not trying to buy MITUSA and succeeding?

###

Leave a Reply

