Made In The U.S.A.

Area Man Buys Local Food

In Adventures on August 11, 2009 at 12:23 am

I went to visit my parents this evening (read: I went to their house to go fishing) and did my weekly grocery shopping afterward. In Illinois. At a different Schnucks than I’m used to. (For those of you not in the St. Louis metro area, Schnucks is a grocery store. The L.A. equivalent would be Vons. The Chicago equivalent would be Jewel. I have no idea what it is on the East Coast. Maybe Kroger.) The Schnucks on the west end of Belleville, near the Skyview Drive-In, had an end-cap in the vegetable department with “Locally Grown” options. The farm was even listed. There were green peppers, zucchini, yellow squash and cucumbers. So I stocked up. My Schnucks, in the ‘hood, doesn’t do that. I was glad that enough people must want to buy locally that they decided to promote it somewhat prominently. Warm fuzzies and whatnot.

###

Leave a Reply

