Made In The U.S.A.

I bought olive oil!

In Adventures on August 13, 2009 at 12:39 am

Trust me: that exclamation point in the title is deserved. I’m ecstatic. I bought olive oil!

I’m surprised I didn’t drink it straight from the bottle on the ride home.

It’s Annie’s Naturals brand of basil infused olive oil. Since I mainly want it for my caprese salad (which is seasoned prominently with basil) I thought it might be the perfect answer. Plus, nowhere on the bottle does it mention the countries of origin of the olives–the way every other olive oil does.

It also says that Annie’s Naturals used to be called Napa Valley Kitchens. And it has an address in Napa, CA. And I put all of these pieces of evidence together to determine that this olive oil is in fact Made In The USA.

I hope.

So now I’m going to do a web search and see if I can verify that.

[Now I’m looking.]

Okay, I found Annie’s site. It turns out she/they/it makes a lot of stuff, like salad dressings and sauces and whatnot. Some of it organic, some of it vegan, some of it gluten free. Clearly, this Annie (or her PR/marketing wonks) has a conscience (or they’re really savvy).

I could find no verification that the oil is in fact MITUSA. But because the bottle isn’t labeled with the imported origin of the olives–as I mentioned every other olive oil is–and it would appear that Annie’s is based in Napa and/or Vermont (long story), I’m going to say this stuff’s kosher. (And by kosher, I mean germane to my project. MITUSA. Homegrown. Etc.)

Also, Annie’s Naturals had a value statement listed on the site. So they can’t be bad people, right?

Our Core Values:
Annie’s is real, authentic, and trusted by consumers. As a company we strive to build upon this legacy with every decision we make.
Annie’s only makes products that taste great; they delight our consumers.
Annie’s uses only simple natural and organic ingredients, no icky additives or pesky preservatives.
Annie’s sources only from places and people we trust, with high emphasis on quality, as well as agricultural and environmental sustainability. We believe in transparency.
Annie’s is a socially responsible company, and through our actions and programs we spread awareness and act as a positive role model for consumers and other business to do the same.
Annie’s and its valued employees treat consumers, customers, suppliers, shareholders, and each other, with the same high degree of respect, fairness, & honesty that we expect of others.

If I can’t buy olive oil from Annie, who can I buy olive oil from?

Funny enough, Annie is the face of a brand controlled by “Homegrown Naturals,” which is a company whose major shareholder is Solera Capital. Solera Capital is “a New York-based private equity investment firm. In addition to Homegrown Naturals, its portfolio includes The Little Clinic, a consumer-focused healthcare company, and LatinaMedia Ventures, a major Hispanic brand and publisher of Latina magazine.”

If I can’t buy olive oil from Solera Capital, who can I buy olive oil from?

###

  1. I don’t know about Annie’s olives country of origin, but her Goddess Dressing is excellent.

Leave a Reply

