Made In The U.S.A.

I broke the rules. I bought foreign.

In Adventures on August 25, 2009 at 12:50 am

Mea culpa.

You may recall the hideous adventures of headlights for the Hyundai? Hideous because I seem to replace the damn things on a regular basis. As it turns out, I replaced this same driver’s side headlight on February 18th, 2009. That’s like 6 months ago. That sucks!

Today I decided to replace the headlight that’s been out for a couple of weeks. But this time, unlike the last time, I couldn’t find a MITUSA headlight.

The first time I replaced it I found Sylvania headlights at Autozone that were Made In The USA. Today at O’Reilly’s, though, I had no such luck. They even had Sylvania headlights. But they weren’t MITUSA. They were MIChina. Another brand was MIMexico. The ones I bought were, like the car, MIKorea. I bought them because there was no American-made option. And I needed a headlight. I would have even upgraded from the $8 Korean light to one of the $12, $17 or even $25 other headlight options if one of them was MITUSA, but they weren’t. So I didn’t.

I got the cheap Korean headlight to go with the cheap Korean car. I felt a little bit better since I’m making due with this seven-year-old thrifty car, so it seemed a bit less frivolous than most purchases might be. And since it’s illegal to drive without a headlight I felt like I had no choice.

Still. I’m sorry.

###

  1. It ocurred to me that now maybe the car and the headlight speak the same language and it will last longer. Just a thought.
    Your mother

Leave a Reply

