Made In The U.S.A.

I guess I need a new coffee pot.

In Adventures on September 18, 2009 at 12:31 am

If you read my last post, which I’m sure you did, you know that my favoritest coffee pot is two things: An awesome heaterless design, and a fire hazard in waiting. Since it’s been recalled, I will no longer use it. In fact, after writing my last post, I unplugged it just to be safe. (How ridiculous is that, right? It’s been fine for years. Now I know that its recalled and I won’t even leave it plugged in.)

So. Know any good coffee makers? Know any good coffee makers without heater bases (i.e. with “thermal” pots)? Know where I can get said good/thermal coffee maker from a U.S. manufacturer? Guess I’d better hit the stores, since if there’s one thing I’ve learned in this process it’s that it is WAY impossible to reliably research product origins online. If only Amazon would get on board with my line item: Country of Origin. (C’mon, Amazon. Do this! Make me famous. Better yet, make a check box: MITUSA, yes or no. C’mon!)

My friend Adam (of Adam and Maggie, parents of Robertson and Benji) swears by the Moka pot. Swears by, as in he owns no less than six of them, in various sizes, at any given time. And he purchases them as gifts. And if you drop him off at his house, no matter how late at night, he asks if you’d like a cup of coffee. Poor Maggie. (If the editor of Cool Tools happens to be reading this and would care for me to request a review of the “pure genius” that is the Moka pot, I will gladly ask Adam. He’s probably up. And fidgety.)

I did find this page where someone refers to both the predecessor in my project, the nice lady who wrote a book about not buying stuff from China for a year. (Well what about me? Where’s my book deal? I’m limiting my purchases even further, so presumably I’d sell more books. Logic. Somebody get me an agent.) Anyway, this page was written by someone who didn’t want a Chinese-made coffee maker. There are some… ideas. But none of them will satisfy my need for a great design and ease of use the same way as my Ford Pinto of a coffee maker. (My favorite tip on that page was in the comments; the guy who suggests rigging some apparatus of cotton and a paper cone and boiling water. I’m sure it works great, dude. But I’m not camping. I’m living here. You’ve clearly never seen me–or America–prior to a morning cup of coffee. I try to rig very few scalding water apparatuses at that time of day.)

Aside from the list of coffee makers not made in China that is eventually found in the comments (looks like I shall turn to Bunn to have a shot at a MITUSA brewer) I also enjoy the country-of-origin-related discussions that arose in the comments on that site I just referred you to. It’s neat to see everybody debating all the things I’ve debated with myself. Also neat that somebody (actually, the same “guy” who suggested the apparatus) really summed up a lot of stuff quite well:

“Being careful about what you buy is always a good idea, including when it was made in your own country.”

Yep.

###

MokaPot2

  1. How but a good ol’ fashioned French press?

Leave a Reply

