Made In The U.S.A.

Grocery Store Revelations

In Adventures on October 24, 2009 at 12:25 am

I went to the grocery store yesterday. I bought a few things and I didn’t buy another. These are their stories.

One thing I bought was Finish, formerly Electrasol, dishwasher detergent tablets. The Quantum kind. With Jet-Dry shine. And a Powerball built in. And other useless nonsensical names on the box. I knew I should double-check where the stuff comes from. But I didn’t. Not until it was too late. And sure enough, just like buttered bread always lands butter-side down, stuff you don’t check always comes from somewhere other than the US of A. In this case, interestingly enough, my dishwasher detergent tablets come from Poland. Dammit dammit dammit. Dammit.

Another thing I bought was Artisan Salt from the Artisan Salt Company. I bought some of their product last year. It was black sea salt, and it was great. And beautiful. And a midnight blue/black color, formed into little thin flat pyramids of saltiness. And it lasted about a year after I used it in everything, so it seems a worthwhile splurge. The black sea, of course, is not in America. So I couldn’t get it. But I could get Hiwa Kai Black Lava Sea Salt, coarse ground, because it is a product of Hawaii. And it’s labeled so, prominently, on the package. And it’s also beautiful and tasty. I’m looking forward to cooking with it until this time next year. Or longer if I need to keep my blood pressure down.

The thing I didn’t buy was flowers. Flowers to go in the nice new vase Shelley bought from Etsy. I noticed that some of the flowers weren’t labeled with a country of origin. Many, though, were labeled “Product of Columbia.” I inquired, just to be on the safe side, with the florist.

“Excuse me,” I asked. “Some of the flowers are marked as imports, and some aren’t marked. Does that means the ones not marked are American grown.”
“No,” she responded with a smile. “All of the flowers are from Columbia.”
“All of them?”
“All of them.”

###

Leave a Reply

