Made In The U.S.A.

No-Impact Man

In Adventures on October 26, 2009 at 12:44 am

Now this guy is serious. Makes me look like a rank amateur. No-Impact Man spent a year making no environmental impact. He rode a bike. He bought local foods. He drank water out of a recycled peanut butter jar. He didn’t use toilet paper.

Ew.

He lived in a way that most people can’t, or won’t. I, however, think that I’m doing nothing nearly so radical. And that is a radical-er idea, I say, because it shows how do-able buying American (or really any old thing in moderation) can be. A simple change like mine, or living a greener lifestyle, or living a healthier lifestyle, or a more whatever lifestyle, can actually be accomplished on a wide scale if you do things that aren’t quite so broadly unappealing as foregoing basic personal hygiene. What I mean is, I’ve made relatively simple changes that are, to me, big ones. But I don’t think they’re extreme. They’re the kinds of changes that really lots of people could make if they wanted to.

###

  1. I don’t know if I could do the no TP thing…unless I can figure out how to use the 3 seashells (anyone get that?).

    However, in the last 6 months, I have made one dramatic change in lifestyle: eating healthier. I do everything I can to avoid corn syrup and any kind of processed foods other than creamer. Yes, I’ll pop for some junkfood every couple of weeks, but mainly it’s been fresh fruit/veg and meat. The only time I venture into the middle of the supermarket is to get mustard, coffee or TP. Result? Down 40 lbs. Feel better than I have since my mid 20s.

    We tried doing the farmers market thing to buy local produce, but the ones we went to were all buying their gear from the same wholesalers as the grocery store. The cost was about the same so convenience ended up winning out. Which is really annoying considering that, living in FL, we should have access to some pretty damn awesome, pretty damn local produce!

    We tried growing tomatoes, but it didn’t work out so well. Over the winter, I’m going to read up on gardening and see if we can’t get something going in the spring.

    Really want to stick it to the man? Grow your own food, collect your own rain water and buy stuff in cash!

Leave a Reply

