Made In The U.S.A.

I had to buy a book.

In Adventures on December 29, 2009 at 12:27 am

This is the problem with buying American: sometimes you can’t.

I needed to buy a book. For work. For my job as a writer, for which I sometimes interview people. I purchased the new book of a photographer I’ll be speaking to so that I can properly interview him without sounding like an idiot.

Is it my fault that he, or really his publisher, decided to print a book in China? More to the point, is he supposed to tell a publisher, “No, I don’t want you to publish my book if it means it won’t be printed in America.” Have you looked at photo books lately? They’re huge. And expensive. And clearly often made overseas. I don’t know too many photographers–even world-famous ones–who would argue with their publishers about where to print their books.

It’s a business. Publishers want to make money, even if it’s via your life’s most meaningfully passionate pursuit. It’s a business, and we consumers want cheap. And those businesses want profit. It’s how the system works. It’s called capitalism.

And it means that sometimes, no matter how much you’d like to avoid it, you have to buy things that are not MITUSA.

###

Leave a Reply

