Made In The U.S.A.

Evidence.

In Adventures on January 7, 2010 at 12:58 am

Do you want to see how much stuff I bought this year? I can’t show you the things themselves. Many of them I ate. But I told you about most of the others. And about how I spent so much time limiting my purchases and buying so much less than I usually do. So you might expect the evidence of my year’s purchases to be rather minimal.

Nope.


There’s still a lot of it. Quite a lot.


That’s every receipt for everything I bought this year. Or I should say, a receipt for everything I consumed. Food, clothing, stuff…


That’s a pile of evidence about the size of a small grocery sack stuffed full.


Every last receipt, for every tank of gas and every cup of coffee and every batch of groceries (with the exception of the random times when printers didn’t work or employees didn’t offer). I’m now so well trained at saving receipts, I’m wondering if I’ll be able to stop.


Can you imagine how big it will be next year, when I’m not so consciously limiting my purchases?

Yikes.

###

  1. What does the GAP sell that was made in America?

    • Funny you should mention it, Schmue, as someone else asked me the same question yesterday. In my trip to the Gap I scoured the store and could only find ONE single solitary thing made in the USA–a belt of American cow leather. One thing. In hindsight, that seems even more powerful to me. Think of ALL the things for sale in a single Gap store, and the ONLY MITUSA item is a random single belt.
      If you’re seeing a Gap receipt in the pile, it’s probably from this post: I feel dirty. I still do, when I think about it.

Leave a Reply

